The Lost Years of Merlin by T. A. Barron


I have had a long fascination with Arthurian legend and its characters. Barron’s book is the first in a series of five. We find Merlin and his mother (or is she really his mother?) as castaways on the coast of Wales, and then as outcasts of village life. His mother is a healer and suspected of being a witch. Our young hero is unsure of his real name, his heritage and his father and mother. He remembers nothing of his earlier life. But, he begins to manifest powers, very powerful ones that he cannot control. After causing great harm to a bully and losing his eyesight in the same fire, he begins to develop his second sight. He sets off on a quest to a mythical island where he hopes to learn of his parentage and past. He makes friends, sees and experiences life changing and life threatening experiences on his quest, and finally finds his name. The tale is well told and those who have read Arthurian legends will hear faint echoes of legends that will become the great wizard Merlin. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series, The Seven Songs of Merlin. ISBN 0-441-00668-X

About KLevenson

I am Teacher Librarian at Piedmont High School in the San Francisco East Bay. I am a part time reference Librarian I for the San Francisco Public Library. I have a Masters in Library and Information Sciences from San Jose State and a Teacher Librarian credential in addition to my teaching credential in Science. My first MA was from Harvard in Archaeology. My students teach me something new every time I am with them!
This entry was posted in Quest Literature, Tween Literature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Lost Years of Merlin by T. A. Barron

  1. Kristin says:

    Reading your blog reminds me of an author I know, Angelica Harris. Her most recent book, Excalibur Reclaims Her King, is the story of a modern day mother sent back to 6th Century to heal Merlin and raise King Arthur from the dead. Check out her website and books, http://www.angelicaharris.com.

    • klevenson says:

      Thanks for your comment. I love stories about Arthur and Merlin, ever since reading the Once and Future King as a child and then The Crystal Cave by Mary Stewart. I was hooked. As a student in Britain, I trekked around to all the purported sites of Arthurian legend. I will look forward to checking out Angelica’s site.

Leave a Reply

