The Fires of Merlin by T.A. Barron


Audio Books (5 cassette tapes), unabridged productions from the Listening Library, performed by Kevin Isola with a lovely British accent. This audio book actually made me excited to get into my car each morning to drive to work and listen to what the young Merlin was now up to. He is on a quest. An ancient poem The Dragon’s Eye describes a future battle between the last great dragon and Merlin, grandson of the great wizard Tuatha. As Merlin seeks the powers necessary to vanquish the dragon he finds hidden powers within himself. He runs into old friends and foes, including Domnu (Dark Fate) and his childhood horse Ion. He makes a new friend (or maybe girlfriend?) out of Hollia of the Deer People. I don’t want to give any more away, but let’s just say, you are on the edge of your seat up to the surprise ending.

About KLevenson

I am Teacher Librarian at Piedmont High School in the San Francisco East Bay. I am a part time reference Librarian I for the San Francisco Public Library. I have a Masters in Library and Information Sciences from San Jose State and a Teacher Librarian credential in addition to my teaching credential in Science. My first MA was from Harvard in Archaeology. My students teach me something new every time I am with them!
This entry was posted in Quest Literature, Tween Literature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

