Princess for Hire by Lindsey Leavitt


In this pleasant romp of a book, perfect for beach reading, we have the high school girl from Idaho whom nothing ever happens to. She has a long term crush on a boy named Hayden, but he is now going out with her ex-best friend. One night as she hangs out in the bathtub, reading the want ads, she spots a green sparkley ad reading, “Princess for Hire, Do you have what it takes to be royalty? Wanted: Teenage girl to serve as substitute princess. Must be willing to travel. Please call Meredith.” She no sooner thinks of how this job would be SO much better than wearing a groundhog costume at the local pet store than suddenly a bubble appears in her bathroom and out steps Meredith, like Glenda the Good.

Her first assignment is pretty awful, Princess Catter, a caterpiller costumed character at a Sci Fi convention. But her next assignments get progressively more interesting. She brings her own personality into the mix and tries to leave the princesses with solutions to their insecurities. This gets her into trouble with the Royal Council. You will need to read it to find out if she comes out on top and whether she gets to kiss Prince Charming.

ISBN 978-142312192-3, 239 pages.

About KLevenson

I am Teacher Librarian at Piedmont High School in the San Francisco East Bay. I am a part time reference Librarian I for the San Francisco Public Library. I have a Masters in Library and Information Sciences from San Jose State and a Teacher Librarian credential in addition to my teaching credential in Science. My first MA was from Harvard in Archaeology. My students teach me something new every time I am with them!
This entry was posted in Tween Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment