TALKING TO KIDS AND TEENS … from the American Academy of Pediatrics


TALKING TO KIDS AND TEENS
ABOUT SOCIAL MEDIA AND SEXTING 
 http://www.aap.org/advocacy/releases/june09socialmedia.htm

The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) post this June 2009 article about how to talk with your kids about social media and having age appropriate conversations about sexting. They give parents tips such as having the computer in a central place, such as the kitchen, where you can keep your eye on what your kids are doing online. If they have a Facebook page, you can make your own page and “friend” them. May of these suggestions would work on my almost 10 year old who still loves Club Penguin, but not so well perhaps on my 14 year old. I accidentally opened his i-touch one and found “Latina Girls.” I told him it was not appropriate to download stuff like this. Who knows, a teacher might confiscate his i-touch and find it, etc. I have not have the nerve to check it again to see if the pictures are gone. (spineless mother). I did rat him out to his dad. I was not in on what they said to each other. I got the feeling the dad conversation was more “boys will be boys.”

About KLevenson

I am Teacher Librarian at Piedmont High School in the San Francisco East Bay. I am a part time reference Librarian I for the San Francisco Public Library. I have a Masters in Library and Information Sciences from San Jose State and a Teacher Librarian credential in addition to my teaching credential in Science. My first MA was from Harvard in Archaeology. My students teach me something new every time I am with them!
This entry was posted in Professional Lit. on Tween Lit.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

