Naked Reading: Uncovering What Tweens Need to Become Lifelong Readers, by Teri S. Lesesne


This book was required reading for my Libr 264 course on Tween Literature, and it is a worthwhile read. I liked the greyed boxes that gave mini list of different kinds of books such as Humor. There were also some fun ideas for engaging tween readers. One I liked was the “Ugly Book Contest” in pages 84-86. the student choses a book they want to “adopt.” They read the book and then design a more attractive cover for it. There are five parts the students need to complete before they can attach their new “Glam Cover” to their chosen book. They need to properly design the spine, front flap, back flap, back cover (including reviews) and finally the front cover. Finally the new cover is made, laminated and put on the book.

ISBN 1-57110-416-x, 118 pages.

About KLevenson

I am Teacher Librarian at Piedmont High School in the San Francisco East Bay. I am a part time reference Librarian I for the San Francisco Public Library. I have a Masters in Library and Information Sciences from San Jose State and a Teacher Librarian credential in addition to my teaching credential in Science. My first MA was from Harvard in Archaeology. My students teach me something new every time I am with them!
This entry was posted in Professional Lit. on Tween Lit., SJSU School of Library and Information Sciences and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

