Avatar, the movie


I think I could say everything is bigger on Pandora. A space colony is established on Pandora, a terran type planet, to mine a rare mineral, unobtainium with sell for millions of dollars an ounce. A former marine joins the expedition when his scientist brother dies. He has the same genome but has not been trained to integrate with the indigenous population. Each person interacting with the indigenous beings has an avatar that he can control while his human body is asleep. Jake has a spinal injury paralysing his legs, but in his avatar he can run. The avatars/indigenes are huge blue cat people with tails who can bond with animals that look like horses but are nectar drinkers or fly on huge dragons they bond one on one with.

The head scientist grace is played by Sigourney Weaver, already well acquainted with aliens as a scientist in the movie Alien from the late 197o’s. (That movie gave me nightmares back then). There are also cool floating mountains where warriors must pass their initiation by bonding with the dragons. How do you know it is your dragon? It tries to kill you!

 The imaginary scenery is really spectacular. But, then, just as you are growing to love the cat people, like Jake does, the military decides to decimate the people and cut down their ancestral tree so that they can mine the mineral beneath it. There is a lot of fighting and blowing things up, but the film ends with a hopeful note as the cat people triumph and Jake is reborn as his avatar. I really enjoyed the film much more than I thought I would.

About KLevenson

I am Teacher Librarian at Piedmont High School in the San Francisco East Bay. I am a part time reference Librarian I for the San Francisco Public Library. I have a Masters in Library and Information Sciences from San Jose State and a Teacher Librarian credential in addition to my teaching credential in Science. My first MA was from Harvard in Archaeology. My students teach me something new every time I am with them!
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

