Serving Young Teens and ‘Tweens, ed. Shiela Anderson


jThe great thing about this book is that it is a very practical, rather than totally theoretical sort of book. I am hanging on to it as I want to read a number of suggested books for tweens. It also gives a number of great ideas for tween programming and projects at the library, and many of them do not seem that difficult or expensive to try out. It discusses how the library can support tweens, by giving them a safe place to explore information and fantasy, a place for gaming, crafts, and maybe even karyoke! Tweens make up an important sector of our patrons, going through great life changes, and we can pave the way for healthy development and the development of a love of reading and knowledge.

ISBN 1-59158-259-8

About KLevenson

I am Teacher Librarian at Piedmont High School in the San Francisco East Bay. I am a part time reference Librarian I for the San Francisco Public Library. I have a Masters in Library and Information Sciences from San Jose State and a Teacher Librarian credential in addition to my teaching credential in Science. My first MA was from Harvard in Archaeology. My students teach me something new every time I am with them!
This entry was posted in Professional Lit. on Tween Lit. and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

