Catching Fire, by Suzanne Collins


You know they are going to make movie of this series. They will be blockbusters. But who will play Katniss? How about the star of “Victorious?” She looks like she could be a huntress.

I read this book in about a day and a half (because I did nothing else aside from eat, snooze and take other bio breaks). It was a great read. For the 75th anniversary of the rebellion, two living victors of previous Games from each District are called back into the arena to kill each other off. This time they are in a water and jungle world with a whole new set of diabolical ways to be killed. What is worse is that many of the victors knew each other before this set of games as they came back every year to be mentors to the new tributes.

This time Katniss is convinced that she must keep Peeta alive. His charismatic abilities at communication may make him the leader of the rebellion. The “mockingjay” like the pin Katniss wore in the Hunger Games has become the symbol of the rebellion. Districts are rebelling. The Capital is trying to brutally put the rebellions down as quickly as possible before the fire spreads.

Is there a District 13? It was supposed to have been destroyed utterly 75 years ago. President Snow is threatening the lives of all Katniss’s family and friends if she does not cooperate in the Games and in marrying Peeta. Peeta still loves her, but what about her hunting companion Gale? Her feelings are still mixed up about both of them. Science fiction, adventure and romance all mixed together into a great experience.

Stephanie Meyer, author of the Twilight saga says about the first book, “I was so obsessed with this book, I had to take it with me out to dinner and hide it under the edge of the table so I wouldn’t have to stop reading…The Hunger Games is amazing.”

ISBN 13: 978-0-439-8, 391 pages.

About KLevenson

I am Teacher Librarian at Piedmont High School in the San Francisco East Bay. I am a part time reference Librarian I for the San Francisco Public Library. I have a Masters in Library and Information Sciences from San Jose State and a Teacher Librarian credential in addition to my teaching credential in Science. My first MA was from Harvard in Archaeology. My students teach me something new every time I am with them!
This entry was posted in Quest Literature, Tween Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

