Spirit Walker, by Michelle Paver


This is the second book in the Chronicles of Ancient Darkness. I have to keep reminding me that these stories are supposed to take place in Paleolithic Europe instead of the Paleolithic Northwest of the U.S. and Canada. The only time I remember is when they say a character has blue eyes or long blond hair. The Seal Clan uses skin kayaks and are menaced by Orcas.

A mysterious sickness that causes people to tear out their hair and go mad. Our twelve year old hero Torak leaves the Raven Clan to try to find a cure for the sickness. He is captured by the Seal clan and taken to a remote island. Meanwhile, his friend Renn from the Raven Clan is trying to find him and his wolf also leaves his pack and tries to find his pack-mate the “tall tailess.” Meanwhile they are terrorized by the tokoroths, demons in children’s bodies. Having seen children possessed by the goddess Kali in Nepal, I can believe that this is possible, especially in a world where people live so close to nature and the spirit world.

Torak has plenty of adventures, discovers he is a Spirit Walker, and that his father was a … well, think of Luke Skywalker and Darth Vader for a hint. I could hardly put this book down and I am starting the sequel of Soul Eater today.  

ISBN 10-0-06-072828-0, 360 pages.

About KLevenson

I am Teacher Librarian at Piedmont High School in the San Francisco East Bay. I am a part time reference Librarian I for the San Francisco Public Library. I have a Masters in Library and Information Sciences from San Jose State and a Teacher Librarian credential in addition to my teaching credential in Science. My first MA was from Harvard in Archaeology. My students teach me something new every time I am with them!
This entry was posted in Quest Literature, Tween Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

