The Dark Is Rising, by Susan Cooper

This is the sequel to Under Sea, Over Stone in The Dark is Rising Sequence. The next book is Greenwitch and then The Grey King which is already reviewed on this blog. I was somewhat surprised  that there wasn’t much overlap between the books. The only overlapping character is Merriman Lyon (aka Merlin). This book was much heavier on the symbolism. It takes place at Christmas and explains some of the stranger English rites such as the funeral of the Wren and the legends around Herne the Hunter. The young hero needs to collect six signs from each of the “elements,” bronze, iron, water, wood, fire, and stone. He finds he is the seventh son of a seventh son and is the last of the Old Ones, destined to help prevent the Dark from conquering. I enjoyed the book but it was not the most exciting of that genre that I have ever written.

It was the 1974 Newbery Honor Book, ISBN0-689-82983-3, 244 pages and recommended by the publisher for 9-13 year olds.


About KLevenson

I am Teacher Librarian at Piedmont High School in the San Francisco East Bay. I am a part time reference Librarian I for the San Francisco Public Library. I have a Masters in Library and Information Sciences from San Jose State and a Teacher Librarian credential in addition to my teaching credential in Science. My first MA was from Harvard in Archaeology. My students teach me something new every time I am with them!
This entry was posted in Quest Literature, Tween Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s