Oath Breaker, by Michelle Paver


This is book 5 in the Chronicles of Ancient Darkness Series, set 6,000 years ago in Northern Europe. I like hearing about some of the creatures we no longer find in Europe such as the wild horses and the giant aurochs.

Again we find Renn and Torak battling Evil, personified by the soul eater, the Oak Mage. A character from the previous book is murdered and another well known character becomes injured in a land slide. Most of the book takes place in the Deep Forest where the clans are distrustful of outsiders. We find out some secrets of the Sacred Grove, Renn starts to come into her own as a mage, and Torak finds out more about his mother from a member of the Red Deer clan. The clans must face a huge forest fire and try to not destroy each other in war. Torak faces ethical questions around vengence and breaking promises.

Wolf and the two crows, Rik and Rack are back. I enjoyed the book and it is suitable for kids from 10 up. I appreciate the historical notes at the end of each book. Paver does lots of research for these books including swimming with Orcas and visiting a wolf sanctuary in England to study the behavior of the wolves.

There are some associated web sites you can visit:

www.michellepaver.com, www.torak.info and www.chroniclesofancientdarkness.com

ISBN 978-0-06-072837-3, c. 2008, Harper Collins, 292 pages.

About KLevenson

I am Teacher Librarian at Piedmont High School in the San Francisco East Bay. I am a part time reference Librarian I for the San Francisco Public Library. I have a Masters in Library and Information Sciences from San Jose State and a Teacher Librarian credential in addition to my teaching credential in Science. My first MA was from Harvard in Archaeology. My students teach me something new every time I am with them!
This entry was posted in Quest Literature, Tween Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

