Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James


My excuse is that I am just getting acquainted with my new Kindle. This was one of the books where they suggest reading the first chapter to see if you want to buy the book. I mentioned my surprise at the nature of the book to my sixteen year old son. He laughed and said, “Yeah, I heard a friend accidentally downloaded it for his grandmother!” Oops! Or on the other hand, perhaps she found it — stimulating. The young underestimate the more mature at times.

I am not a reader of the modern day Romance genre and I have been told that they are much more graphic than the gothic romances I grew up with by Victoria Holt, Mary Stewart and Norah Lofts. Maybe this is an especially graphic Romance novel? It is less kinky that the Sleeping Beauty trilogy by Anne Roquelaire, but there is plenty of mild BDSM.

The main character Anna is graduating from college in Washington and looking for an internship in the publishing business. She is sexually inexperienced. She substitutes at an interview for the college newspaper of one of the graduation speakers. He is an extremely wealthy, extremely handsome young entrepreneur, and extremely into Dominant and Submissive relationships. He is attracted immediately to Anna as a potential Submissive partner and the book takes off from there.

For most of us this would be total fantasy, being flown home is a private helicopter, showered with expensive gifts, and signing an NDA (non-disclosure agreement). After a short bout of dating a multimillionaire, well, maybe it isn’t that fantastical. Men who have more money than they know what to do with it seem to buy lots of toys and like to entertain their girlfriends in a way that shows off their monetary assets. I wonder if that is to make up for insecurities in other areas?

I was glad to be reading this book on my Kindle, because as long as I kept a poker face, no one in the doctor’s waiting room knew what I was reading. It is a fast read and part of a trilogy. I have so much on my recommended reading list that I am not sure I will get to the other two books, but I expect more of the same themes.

This book is not recommended for your high schooler. Maybe some of the sexual references would go over their head, but not enough of them.

http://www.amazon.com/Fifty-Shades-of-Grey-ebook/dp/B007J4T2G8/ref=sr_1_1_title_1_kin?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1340384704&sr=1-1&keywords=fifty+shades+of+grey

About KLevenson

I am Teacher Librarian at Piedmont High School in the San Francisco East Bay. I am a part time reference Librarian I for the San Francisco Public Library. I have a Masters in Library and Information Sciences from San Jose State and a Teacher Librarian credential in addition to my teaching credential in Science. My first MA was from Harvard in Archaeology. My students teach me something new every time I am with them!
This entry was posted in Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

