The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel


I loved this movie!! Judi Dench and Maggie Smith plus a very strong supporting cast. How can you go wrong?

This is a film that will definitely appeal more to a mature audience. As 50 becomes the new 30, we baby-boomers chase youth and activity. At a certain point, we realize that we are getting older, but we don’t want to be “old.” Many of us lost money in the last economic slide and our retirements are not looking too rosy.

Some retirees try to stretch their dollar by moving to Mexico or Costa Rica. Well, how about India? A group of British pensioners arrive at the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, supposedly active, comfortable living for retirees. It is still the dream of a young Indian to upgrade the hotel his father left him. When they arrive the hotel looks more like something hippie backpackers would stay in. The pensioners get to know each other over time. Some are immediately ready to take a walk and explore the teeming streets. Others are afraid of the food, the water, and almost everything else. Many of the lines are quite funny, especially to those of us over 50 or so. Having travelled in India maybe six or eight times, I can totally empathize. If you have ever talked with someone about your phone service or computer who is connected to you from Mumbai, you will get that part of the movie, too.

This is one of the few movies I have seen recently that I have recommended to many people and would gladly go to a second, or third, time.

http://www.thebestexoticmarigoldhotel.co.uk/

About KLevenson

I am Teacher Librarian at Piedmont High School in the San Francisco East Bay. I am a part time reference Librarian I for the San Francisco Public Library. I have a Masters in Library and Information Sciences from San Jose State and a Teacher Librarian credential in addition to my teaching credential in Science. My first MA was from Harvard in Archaeology. My students teach me something new every time I am with them!
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

