Young Stalin by Simon Sebag Montefiore


http://www.amazon.com/dp/1400096138/ref=asc_df_14000961384106344?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&tag=shopzilla0d-20&ascsubtag=shopzilla_rev_436-20;14536635924970750080910060301008005&linkCode=df0&creative=395093&creativeASIN=1400096138

Very interesting read. I read it because 1) it is written by a British cousin on my son’s dad’s side of the family, 2) it caught my eye in the New Books section of my Public Library, and 3) I have a long fascination with Russian history, started by seeing the movie “Nicholas and Alexandra” when I was a teen. I wanted to try to understand what upbringing and personality traits created the monster who would murder tens of thousands of his fellow Russians. I learned he was intelligent, creative, an accomplished singer and poet, a womanizer, trained to be a priest. Many new documents and diaries have recently become available to researchers. The author was actually able to interview a few people who knew Stalin. Obviously, they are in their 90’s so time is running out for first hand account. I find all the Russian names and nicknames quite confusing, but the effort was worth my time.

As I sat reading it on BART enroute to work, a young lady next to me commented that she had been reading a book on how America is headed in the direct of Stalin’s Soviet regime. G_d help us all. Another good reason to read this well researched and well written book.

About KLevenson

I am Teacher Librarian at Piedmont High School in the San Francisco East Bay. I am a part time reference Librarian I for the San Francisco Public Library. I have a Masters in Library and Information Sciences from San Jose State and a Teacher Librarian credential in addition to my teaching credential in Science. My first MA was from Harvard in Archaeology. My students teach me something new every time I am with them!
This entry was posted in Adult non fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

