Cinder by Marissa Meyer


OK, first spoiler, there is no scarlet slipper I could find anywhere in the book. However the artificial foot does come into play several times. With the former Chinese obsession for tiny bound feet, the author has thrown in an interesting historical cultural reference.

In this spellbinding retelling of the Cinderella tale, Cinder is a Cyborg girl living in New Beijing after World War IV. There is a colony living on the Moon, the Lunars, who have bioelectrical skills at creating “glamors” and brainwashing Earthens. Cinder has skills as a mechanic. Her work at her booth in an open air market brings in the money to support her idle step-mother and her two step-sisters, Peony and Pearl. Pearl is the stereotypical bitchy older sister. The younger sister is more sympathetic to Cinder. Cinder’s sidekick is a beat up old robot. The fairy godmother turns out to be an elderly scientist. The pumpkin is echoed by a beat up orange car in a time of hovercraft or hovers.

The prince brings his robot tutor to Cinder’s booth to be repaired. She gets that first flash of a winning smile from the depths of his sweatshirt hoodie.

There is a type of plague killing people around the world. The government accepts cyborg volunteers to use as guinea pigs to try to find a cure for the plague. No more spoilers! Read it! It is a definite page turner. I consumed it in a couple days. I am now ravenous for Scarlet, the second book in the series. As a school librarian, I checked the catalog and a hapless student was supposed to return it on 12/7/15. As soon as I get to school tomorrow, there is going to be a recall for that book!

About KLevenson

I am Teacher Librarian at Piedmont High School in the San Francisco East Bay. I am a part time reference Librarian I for the San Francisco Public Library. I have a Masters in Library and Information Sciences from San Jose State and a Teacher Librarian credential in addition to my teaching credential in Science. My first MA was from Harvard in Archaeology. My students teach me something new every time I am with them!
This entry was posted in Quest Literature, Tween Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

