Speak, by Laurie Halse Anderson


Excellent book. I have recommended to a number of my high school students. Our school students perform yearly at a Consent Assembly. We will have a discussion on the true stories presented at the assembly.

This novel is about a high school freshman who is raped at a summer party. She calls the police who arrive and break up the party. She is too embarrassed to tell the police she was raped so she runs home. She becomes a pariah at the school because she has not told anyone about the rape. Finally, she has the courage to relate her experience.

About KLevenson

I am Teacher Librarian at Piedmont High School in the San Francisco East Bay. I am a part time reference Librarian I for the San Francisco Public Library. I have a Masters in Library and Information Sciences from San Jose State and a Teacher Librarian credential in addition to my teaching credential in Science. My first MA was from Harvard in Archaeology. My students teach me something new every time I am with them!
This entry was posted in Tween Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

