The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls, by Anton Disclafani


This book is so different from what I expected and I loved it. I saw this book in our high school library and expected a sort of “I love horses and a halcyon vision of summer camp.”

The story is laid in the South and moves to the Smokey Mountains. The young woman character is raised in an isolated setting where her closest companions are are brother and a male cousin. She begins an intimate relationship with her cousin and her brother attacks the cousin. The cousin is badly injured and she is sent away to an exclusive camp/school for girls in the Smokey Mountains.

At first she thinks she is only there for the summer. She meets all kinds of girls there for different reasons as the Depression gains momentum. She does love horses and that is one of the things that keeps her going during her enforced stay at the camp.

If I told you more, it would give too much away. A compelling read and a view into a very different time and world, when girls were sent away from home for suspected pregnancies and other “bad behavior.”

About KLevenson

I am Teacher Librarian at Piedmont High School in the San Francisco East Bay. I am a part time reference Librarian I for the San Francisco Public Library. I have a Masters in Library and Information Sciences from San Jose State and a Teacher Librarian credential in addition to my teaching credential in Science. My first MA was from Harvard in Archaeology. My students teach me something new every time I am with them!
This entry was posted in Teen Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls, by Anton Disclafani

  1. Julie Wong says:

    I’m so glad you found and reviewed this book. I loved it. I actually know someone who went to the real Yonahlossee Riding Club with her sister.

Leave a Reply

